5th Global Conference on Criminal Finances and Cryptocurrencies

The 5th Global Conference on Criminal Finances and Cryptocurrencies, a joint initiative of the Basel Institute on Governance, INTERPOL and Europol, will take place on 7–8 December 2021. 

Hosted virtually this year by the Basel Institute through its International Centre for Asset Recovery, the annual conference gathers cryptocurrency experts, investigators and other law enforcement representatives from around the world. 

The aim is to increase the capabilities of all relevant actors to successfully investigate and prosecute virtual assets-based money laundering and other crypto-enabled crimes, as well as manage related risks to citizens, companies and national/global financial systems.

The conferences help to create a network of practitioners and experts who can collectively establish best practices and provide assistance and recommendations in this fast-evolving field.

The annual conference is an initiative of the Working Group on Cryptocurrencies and Criminal Finances, formally established by the Basel Institute on Governance, INTERPOL and Europol in 2016. 

Details

  • Date: 7–8 December 2021 (8 December restricted to law enforcement and related public authorities only; attendance subject to confirmation)
  • Time: 12:00–15:30 GMT (13:00–16:30 CET, 08:00–11:30 EST, 20:00–23:30 SGT)
  • Language: English
  • Target sectors: Law enforcement and police investigation divisions, judicial authorities, Financial Intelligence Units (FIUs) and global/regional anti-money laundering bodies. The first day is also open to private entities including virtual asset service providers (VASPs), banks, law firms and academia.

Registration

Day 1: 7 December, 12:00–15:30 GMT

Open to all, this day is dedicated to contrasting perspectives on virtual assets, regulation and compliance from the public and private sectors, media and regulatory bodies. Topics include:

  • Regulatory developments in the virtual asset field, internationally and within the EU
  • Non-fungible tokens and their use to launder money
  • Public-private cooperation in the fight against crypto crime
  • Using blockchain and cryptocurrency intelligence to aid investigations into fraud and ransomware attacks
  • Recovering illicit assets when they're virtual

View the agenda and links to the video recordings and slides where available.

Register for day 1

Day 2: 8 December, 12:00–15:30 GMT

Limited to law enforcement and related public authorities (judicial authorities, Financial Intelligence Units, anti-money laundering supervisors, etc.) the second day is an opportunity to explore the changing modi operandi of criminals abusing the cryptocurrency ecosystem to hide and launder money, and how law enforcement can fight back.

The agenda will be released to participants shortly before the conference.

Apply to attend day 2

At a glance:

click for details